After being postponed by the pandemic, we’re back!

23 – 24 May 2022 in central London, registration is FREE, and we have a great line up of speakers (full list of speakers is below). You can see more details on the Royal Society website:

It’s organised with Kate Laskowski on ‘Collective animal behaviour through time‘. The idea is to exchange ideas and encourage more research on the developmental and evolutionary aspects of collective behaviour in animals, which we think has been lacking in favour of determining the mechanisms of collective behaviour.

We will be having a poster session on the first day. If you’d like to contribute a poster, or know of someone else who may be interested, applications will be via the Royal Society page above. A major aim of the meeting is to facilitate new avenues of research crossing collective behaviour, developmental biology and evolutionary biology, so we would consider preliminary results being presented at the poster session if we think this would encourage discussion and collaboration in this research area. As an added bonus to being able to present their work, presenters don’t have to buy a drinks ticket for the poster session!

We’re very lucky to have the following speakers:

Prof Jens Krause, Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries

Prof Iain Couzin, University of Konstanz / Max Planck Institute of Animal Behaviour

Prof James Marshall, University of Sheffield

Prof Dora Biro, University of Oxford

Prof Seirian Sumner, University College London

Dr Audrey Dussutour, CNRS / Universite Paul Sabatier

Dr Gonzalo de Polavieja, Champalimaud Foundation

Dr Elva Robinson, University of York

Dr Andrew King, Swansea University

Dr Vishwesha Guttal, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dr Simon Garnier, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Dr Lauren Brent, University of Exeter

Dr Julia Saltz, Rice University

Dr Stephen Montgomery, University of Bristol

Dr Damien Farine, University of Konstanz / Max Planck Institute of Animal Behaviour

Dr Kate Laskowski, University of California Davis

See you there!